Blues 17 – 15 Richmond

10th March 2013

Macclesfield picked up their fifth consecutive victory as they beat mid-table side Richmond 17-15 away. 

The Blues left it late once again as Matt King’s converted try in the final two minutes secured the win. 

 Richmond opened the scoring five minutes in as winger Will Browne crossed the line after receiving the ball on the right wing, the conversion off-target to go 5-0 up.

 The Blues hit back, and after several chances high up the field captain Tom Eaton scored a penalty to narrow the gap to 5-3.

 Several minutes later Macclesfield were able to take the lead; Matt King’s impressive run from the half-way line was offloaded to scrum-half Matt Rhodes to score down the left. Eaton’s conversion brought the score to 5-10.

 Dave Marwick then saw yellow with five minutes to play in the first half, Richmond were able to capitalise on the advantage as Steve Wood scored from a driving maul. 

 The conversion went wide to bring the score to 10-10.

 Richmond took the lead soon into the second half, as Henry Taylor scored an individual effort to the right of the posts. The conversion went wide to go 15-10 up.

 The Blues had a dominant spell of ten minutes in Richmond’s half, however failed to find the gaps and possession went back to the home side.

 Macclesfield’s last chance of the game came from a scrum in the top left corner of the pitch, the ball went wide for Matt King to drive over the line to level the match once again.

 Tom Eaton’s conversion went wide, however was allowed to retake as several Richmond players were too quick off the goal line.

 Eaton’s second attempt sailed through the posts to give the Blues a 17-15 lead, and two minutes later the full-time whistle went to give Macclesfield a valuable 4 points. 

15 – Matt O’Regan, 14 – Josh Fowles, 13 – Elliot Brierley, 12 – Tom Davenport, 11 – Matt King, 10 – Tom Eaton, 9 – Matt Rhodes, 1 – Gavin Woods, 2 – Tom Cruse, 3 – Rikki Stout, 4 – Tom Mantell, 5 – Dean Williams, 6 – Dave Marwick, 7 – Frankie Barker, 8 – Matt Owen replacements – 16 – Dave Blackwell, 17 – Martin Kent, 18 – Chris Jones, 19 – Mike Finnemore, 20 – George Baxter