Macclesfield Rugby
Main sponsor

Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2022

Wednesday 26th May 2022 at 8.00pm, Priory Park Clubhouse


1. Introduction & Welcome

The Chairman welcomed the members and declared the meeting quorate (Appendix 1)

Apologies for absence: Appendix 1

2. Remembrance of members deceased this year – Peter Harper, President MRUFC

A minutes silence was held in remembrance of:-

Martin Flanagan

Barry Jones


3. Approval of the minutes of AGM held 26th May 2021

The minutes of last year’s meeting were formally presented.  There were no questions arising from members and the minutes were approved as an accurate and complete record of the meeting.

Proposed: Chris Dempsey

Seconded: John Knight

Vote: unanimous


4. Chairman’s Report

The Chairman presented his report for the season (Appendix 2).

Stephen Branch, Chairman, expressed his thanks to Tom Davenport who is standing down as Rugby Director.  The Chairman also read out an email received from Pete Ord congratulating the management of the Club on the manner in which the Club has been managed in the last year.


5. Finance Report

Phil Ainsworth, Finance Director, presented his report and forecast for financial year ending 30th June 2022. (Appendix 3).

Jim Curtis asked about the RFU Loan for the replacement of the Astro surface and The Chairman outlined the details.

Chris Dempsey suggested consideration of moving the Nat West bank account to Co-op because of the issues with Nat West.  Phil Ainsworth responded that it would be kept under review.


6. Director of Rugby Report

Tom Davenport presented his report for the season. (Appendix 4).

The report of the individual senior men’s teams was also presented (Appendix 5).


7. Mini & Youth, and Ladies Rugby Reports

Phil Mason presented his report (Appendix 6).


8. Election of Executive Committee & 2nd, 3rd, 4th and Ladies XV Captains

There being no other nominations, the Executive team were elected unanimously for the following season.


Election of Executive Officers

Position                         Nominee                             Proposer                             Seconder
Chairman                     Stephen Branch                 Simon Dempsey               Jim Curtis
Finance Director         Phil Ainsworth                   Clive Hammond               Peter Harper
Secretary                     Bob Cooke                          Mike Keeling                    Clive Kirkham
Rugby Director            Vacant
Youth Chairman          Phil Mason                          Russ Tomlinson                Liz Jarrett
Mini Chairman            Vacant                                  N/A                                    N/A


Team Captains

There being no other nominations the following were appointed captains for the 2020/2021 season

1st XV              James Oliver
2nd XV            Sam Jones
3rd XV            Harry Grant (shared)
4th XV            Jeremy Bostock
Ladies XV      Mary Thorpe

Proposed: David Wilkinson
Seconded: Keith Dobson
Votes on Officers and Team Captains passed unanimously.


9. Confirmation of election of honorary members

Stephen Branch confirmed that Peter Harper, incumbent President of Macclesfield RUFC should continue to serve as President of the Club.

Sam Moss and Billy Robinson were both elected Honorary Life Vice – Presidents for service to Macclesfield RUFC.

Proposed: Stephen Branch
Seconded: James Cross
Vote:  Unanimous


10. Any other business

a) Playing Structure

Chairman, Stephen Branch outlined the details of the changes in the Playing Structure within the Club with effect from the new season 2022/2023.  The amended Player Pathway was also outlined. The graphics used to support the explanations are attached as Appendix 7 and Appendix 8.


Jim Curtis asked whether Andy Appleyard had input to the revised structure.  Stephen Branch confirmed that he did.

Jim Curtis also asked about Rick Jones.  Stephen Branch confirmed that Rick is currently considering a possible coaching role with the 2nd XV.


Rick Connor asked who uses the 1st XV pitch and who has the “last word” on who can use it?

Stephen Branch confirmed that the pitch is now known as the Main Pitch, not the 1st XV pitch.  The pitch will be used by the senior side at home on a Saturday or Sunday in consultation with grounds staff and club management.

Terry Robson was 80 years old yesterday.  All club members are invited to the Sin Bin Bar on Sunday 29th May at 2pm.

The Chairman thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the meeting.


Appendix 1

Members present:
Stephen Branch (Chair)
Andy Appleyard
Jerry Frain
Phil Mason
Phil Ainsworth
Bob Jenner
Jim Curtis
Simon Dempsey
Chris Dempsey
Albert Simpson
Pete Harper
Rick Connor
Keith Dobson
David Wilkinson
James Cross
Ric Cotton
Reg Davenport
Terry Robson
Mike Keeling
John Knight
Clive Hammond
Victoria Brierley (Zoom)
Peter White (Zoom)
Russ Tomlinson (Zoom)
Jeremy Bostock (Zoom)
Myles Hall (Zoom)




Apologies for absence were received from:
Bob Cooke
Derek Laidlaw
Tom Davenport
Pete Ord
Tony Close
Micky Jones
Mike Ransom
John Webster
Sir Nicholas Winterton



When #AUSvENG kicks off around the world ⏰

test Twitter Media - When #AUSvENG kicks off around the world ⏰

Not pumped for #AUSvENG yet? 𝗧𝗵𝗶𝘀 𝘀𝗵𝗼𝘂𝗹𝗱 𝗵𝗲𝗹𝗽. 𝗖𝗼𝗺𝗲 𝗼𝗻 𝗘𝗻𝗴𝗹𝗮𝗻𝗱!

Bringing their class to the biggest stage @rugbycanada fans will be hoping for more moments like this at #RWC2021 in New Zealand later this year

𝙂𝙧𝙚𝙖𝙩 𝙢𝙚𝙢𝙤𝙧𝙞𝙚𝙨 🌹 The last time we toured Australia in 2016 🎬 #AUSvENG

Captain’s run done ✅ Tomorrow it’s game time 👊 @O2 | #WearTheRose

South African fans know how to bring the vibes! 🇿🇦 It's time for @THESTORMERS fans to show us what they've got, as @kylegbrown gives us an inside look at the @URCOfficial Final! 🏆 #RugbysGreatestFans

'I may ask him to sign my shirt!' To be fair, Dan, we'd probably also be asking Siya Kolisi for an autograph... 🎥 Our man in Pretoria, @Jamiehuwroberts, sat down with the @WelshRugbyUnion captain ahead of tomorrow's 1st Test 📺 Coverage starts at 3:30 - LIVE on @SkySports